The United Kingdom is twice the size of New York State by its size. It consists of England, Scotland, Northern Island and Great Britain. England is separated by the granite Cheviot Hills from Scotland on the north.

London is the capital city for United Kingdom and the currency here is Pound sterling (£).

Thames, Tyne, Tees, and Humber are the Important Rivers flowing into the North Sea. The Wye and Severn are in the west which empty into the Bristol Channel.

UK’s government is a parliamentary democracy and constitutional monarchy. It has a queen and a parliament with two houses. Those two are the House of Lords and the House of Commons. The House of Lords has 574 life peers, 92 hereditary peers, and 26 bishops, whereas the House of Commons include 651 popularly elected members.

England has existed as a unified entity since the 10th century;

The population of United Kingdom is 63,047,162. English is the official language.

© Copyright © 2014 SS Alight Educational Consultants.

Powered by APYELLOWPAGES  |   Designed by Creators Touch